March 9, 2009

Drive for 65: Who's the No 1 overall seed?

We're less than a week from "Selection Sunday" (March 15), and we'll now update our bracket daily.

It's important to note that this is a projection, not how the field would look if it were decided today.

Teams are grouped by projected seed and listed from strongest to weakest within that seed. At the bottom is a breakdown by league of the number of projected bids and some information on the makeup of the field, the selection committee and the sites.

(Note: Teams denoted by asterisks already have clinched a bid.) Drive for 65
No. 1 seeds
1. North Carolina
2. Pittsburgh
3. Connecticut
4. Michigan State
No. 2 seeds
5. Louisville
6. Oklahoma
7. Duke
8. Kansas
No. 3 seeds
9. Memphis
10. Villanova
11. Wake Forest
12. Washington
No. 4 seeds
13. Florida State
14. Missouri
15. Xavier
16. Illinois
No. 5 seeds
17. UCLA
18. Purdue
19. Clemson
20. Butler
No. 6 seeds
21. Marquette
22. Syracuse
23. Arizona State
24. Gonzaga
No. 7 seeds
25. West Virginia
26. Texas
27. Utah
28. LSU
No. 8 seeds
29. BYU
30. California
31. Wisconsin
32. Tennessee
No. 9 seeds
33. Texas A&M
34. Boston College
35. Ohio State 3
6. Dayton
No. 10 seeds
37. Oklahoma State
38. Arizona
39. Saint Mary's
40. Minnesota
No. 11 seeds
41. Siena
42. New Mexico
43. Michigan
44. UNLV
No. 12 seeds
45. Utah State
46. Northern Iowa*
47. South Carolina
48. Penn State
No. 13 seeds
49. Virginia Commonwealth
50. Western Kentucky
51. American
52. Weber State
No. 14 seeds
53. Stephen F. Austin
54. Binghamton
55. Kent State
56. College of Charleston
No. 15 seeds
57. North Dakota State
58. Cornell*
59. Robert Morris
60. East Tennessee State*
No. 16 seeds
61. Morgan State
62. CS Northridge
63. Radford*
64. Morehead State*
65. Alabama State
Penn State
South Carolina
New Mexico
San Diego State
Rhode Island

8: Big Ten
7: Big East
6: ACC, Big 12
5: Pac-10
4: Mountain West
3: SEC
2. Atlantic 10
1: America East, Atlantic Sun, Big Sky, Big South, Big West, Colonial Athletic Association, Conference USA, Horizon, Ivy, Metro Atlantic, Mid-American, Mid-Eastern Athletic, Missouri Valley, Northeast, Ohio Valley, Patriot, Southern, Southland, Southwestern Athletic, Summit, Sun Belt, Western Athletic (22)
The NCAA uses an "S curve," meaning it ranks all 65 teams in order 1-65, then places them in regions under the theory the top No. 1 seed would have the worst No. 2 seed in its bracket, the worst No. 1 seed would have the top No. 2 seed, etc. The balancing of the regions is the most important factor in seeding the tournament.
As far as other rules go, teams from the same conference hopefully won't meet until a regional final, but the NCAA has relaxed that because some conferences have six and seven bids (it's even permissible for an intraconference matchup in the second round, though that is to be avoided whenever possible). But the first three teams selected from a given conference must be in different regions.
Higher-seeded teams should be placed as close to home as possible. No team may play on its home floor, but most sites are "neutral courts" anyway.
Teams can move up or down a spot or two in the "S-curve," maybe even a seed, to preserve other principles.
SEC commissioner Mike Slive is the chairman of the 10-member NCAA Tournament Selection Committee this season. He is one of four members with a "Big Six" affiliation, joining UCLA athletic director Dan Guerrero, Connecticut athletic director Jeff Hathaway and Ohio State athletic director Gene Smith. The other six members: Xavier AD Mike Bobinski, Texas-San Antonio AD Lynn Hickey, Utah AD Chris Hill, Kent State AD Laing Kennedy, UC Riverside AD Stan Morrison and George Mason AD Thomas O'Connor. O'Connor was the chairman last season. Hickey is just the second woman to ever serve on the committee, following Charlotte AD Judy Rose (1999-2003).
March 17: Opening-round game in Dayton, Ohio
First and second rounds
March 19 and 21: Greensboro, N.C.; Kansas City, Mo.; Philadelphia; Portland, Ore.
March 20 and 22: Boise, Idaho; Dayton, Ohio; Miami; Minneapolis
Regional semifinals and final
March 26 and 28: Boston; Glendale, Ariz.
March 27 and 29: Indianapolis; Memphis, Tenn.
Final Four
April 4 and 6: Ford Field, Detroit

Mike Huguenin is the college sports editor for He can be reached at

FEATURED PRODUCT is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2007 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.